• Tue. Nov 28th, 2023

US. Patada indie

> Sports News, MLS soccer & international Football

MLS Announces 2023 Year-End Award Winners

Major League Soccer today announced the finalists for the 2023 MLS Year-End Awards, honoring the league’s best players during the regular season.

Competitors include individuals representing 13 MLS clubs, with the winners announced through the Audi 2023 MLS Cup Playoffs. Atlanta United, FC Cincinnati and St. Louis CITY SC are the most represented clubs with finals in four award categories each.

The following finalists (in alphabetical order) received the highest average votes from the following groups:

Current MLS First Team Players MLS Clubs (Coaches, Technical Directors/General Managers) Select media representatives representing local and national trades that consistently covered the 2023 MLS regular season

Landon Donovan MLS MVP Finals

Luciano Acosta – FC Cincinnati Thiago Almada – Atlanta United Dénis Bouanga – LAFC

Sigi Schmid MLS Coach of the Year finalists

Bradley Carnell – St. Louis CITY SC Wilfried Nancy – Columbus Crew Pat Noonan – FC Cincinnati

MLS Rookie of the Year Finalist

For this award, a “rookie” is defined as a player who had prior professional experience and made his MLS debut in 2023.

Giorgos Giakoumakis – Atlanta United Eduard Löwen – St. Louis CITY SC Lionel Messi – Inter Miami CF

MLS Young Player of the Year Finalist

For this award, any “young player” in MLS who is 22 years of age or younger during the calendar year is eligible for consideration.

Thiago Almada – Atlanta United Duncan McGuire – Orlando City SC Aidan Morris – Columbus Crew

Allstate MLS Goalkeeper of the Year Finalist

Roman Bürki – St. Louis CITY SC Roman Celentano – FC Cincinnati Pedro Gallese – Orlando City SC

MLS Defensive Player of the Year Finalist

Yeimar Gómez Andrade – Seattle Sounders FC Matt Miazga – FC Cincinnati Tim Parker – St. Louis CITY SC

MLS Comeback Player of the Year Finalist

Honors an MLS player who has overcome serious injury and/or adversity and as a result missed a significant portion of the 2022 season – then performed better to succeed in the 2023 season.

João Paulo – Seattle Sounders FC Alan Pulido – Sporting Kansas City Miles Robinson – Atlanta United

Audi Goals Drive Progress Impact Award finalists

Learn more about the Audi Goals Drive Progress Impact Award and our players’ community efforts here.

Alejandro Bedoya – Philadelphia Union Darlington Nagbe – Columbus Crew Taylor Washington – Nashville SC

MLS Referee of the Year Finalist

Jon Freemon Victor Rivas Ted Unkel

MLS Assistant Referee of the Year Finalist

Michael Barwegan Cam Blanchard Ian McKay